Presidential decree establishes Commission on State Assets Recovery

President Abdulla Yameen Abdul Gayoom has today, by a Presidential Decree, established the Commission on State Assets Recovery. The decision was made following deliberations at the Cabinet meeting held on Sunday, 16th July 2017.

At the Cabinet meeting, members highlighted that recovery efforts of lost State assets were not being undertaken optimally by the respective institutions.

The main purpose of establishing the Commission on State Assets Recovery is to analyse efforts taken by the institutions to recover State assets highlighted in reports published by the Office of the Auditor General and the Anti-Corruption Commission. The President has granted full authority to the commission to independently carry out its duties, and take action accordingly.

The Commission on State Assets Recovery will be chaired by Minister of Home Affairs Hon. Azleen Ahmed. Other members of the commission are as follows:

– Uz. Mohamed Mujthaz
– Ms. Khadeeja Hussain
– Dr. Ibrahim Mahfooz
– Uz. Mohamed Saleem